Solicitation of Candidates for Two Non-Board D/I Positions

Back to top

The deadline for individuals to submit expressions of interest in serving as a non-Board member of the Distribution/Interconnection Committee of the NPR Board of Directors has been extended until 
Thursday, March 21, 2013.    
Please see the original announcement, below, for instruction

Solicitation of Candidates for Two Non-Board D/I Committee Member Positions

Responses Due By February 19, 2013 [NOW DUE BY THURSDAY, MARCH 21, 2013]

The Membership and Governance Committee (the “Committee”) of the Board of Directors of National Public Radio, Inc. (the “Corporation”), solicits expressions of interest by persons who wish to serve as a non-Board member of the Distribution/Interconnection Committee of the NPR Board of Directors.  This service is for a three-year term beginning with the Committee’s November 2013 meeting.  Non-Board members of the D/I Committee are elected by the NPR Board and ratified by the interconnected stations.  Non-Board members serve for a three-year term and are eligible to serve two successive terms.  

The NPR Board of Directors governs the Public Radio Satellite System (PRSS).  The D/I Committee is charged with proposing rates and policy to the Board and initiating oversight of the operation of the interconnection system.  

The presence of the non-Board members on the Committee reflects the fact that the interconnection system serves a diverse group of users, including public radio stations (regardless of programming or organizational affiliations), program producers and distributors, and other entities not affiliated with NPR.  The non-Board component of the Committee is intended to help NPR as manager of the PRSS assets understand and meet the needs of that diverse group of users.   

The second terms of two non-Board members of the Committee expire in November 2013:

    Roger Gomoll, OnAirFundraising, LLC, Roseville, MN  
    Sue Schardt, Association of Independents in Radio, Inc., Dorchester, MA

Accordingly, the Board must fill two non-Board D/I Committee member positions in November 2013.

Criteria for evaluating candidates for the non-Board member seat include:

1.    Candidate must demonstrate interest in and knowledge of the public radio distribution system and public radio programming;

2.    Candidate must demonstrate an ability to understand and explain the needs of non-NPR public radio satellite system users, including independent producers, other public telecommunications entities, and minority groups;

3.    Candidate must not be an Authorized Station Representative of an NPR Member station.  (Other employees of NPR Members, including employees of any stations licensed to or operated by a Member, are eligible to serve as such non-Board members and are welcome to apply);

4.    Candidate must demonstrate willingness to make a commitment of time and to travel for meetings throughout term of service (4-5 meetings a year; travel expenses paid by NPR).

If you wish to be considered for service as a non-Board member of the D/I Committee, you should submit a resume and a brief statement of interest in the position.  

Expressions of interest should be sent as e-mail attachments (preferably in MS Word format) toTwanna Clark, NPR Board Liaison, at with the subject line “Non-Board D/I Committee Member Nominations.”  Such indications also may be sent by mail or courier, addressed to Twanna Clark, Board Liaison, National Public Radio, Inc., 635 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3753.  These should be received by the close of business on Tuesday, February 19, 2013 (though the Committee retains the right to extend the due date). [EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST NOW DUE BY THURSDAY, MARCH 21, 2013]

As part of the annual election process, the Committee will review these expressions of interest (including recommendations from the D/I Committee) and will nominate one or more candidates for two non-Board D/I Committee members to be elected by the full Board.  Following the Board election, ballots with the names of the elected non-Board candidates will be submitted to the interconnected stations for ratification.  Balloting will open on Friday, July 12, 2013, and close on Monday, August 12, 2013.  The ratified Committee member will take office at the November 2013 meeting of the NPR Board.

If you have any questions about the nomination process for non-Board members, please call Alberta Savage at (202) 513-2609 or Twanna Clark at (202) 513-2058.


Posted January 28, 2013